Skip navigation

I usually don’t have a problem with sleep. Unless I’m trapped in a hotel room with two people who snore and an uncomfortable mattress. Last night I found myself awake at 3 in the morning, in a room by myself. I have no idea why. I couldn’t fall back to sleep. I hate that. I just want to sleep damn it and I’m lying awake in a dark room staring at the ceiling with whatever song I last heard on the radio stuck in my head on repeat.

What the hell? So what do I do. I break out my Kindle and turn on Pandora. I’m hoping that if I can just get that damn song out of my head then I’ll be able to fall back to sleep. So I listen to Today’s College Indie and Indie Dance stations. They don’t work. Then I try Relaxation Radio, which isn’t so relaxing with commercials. It doesn’t help either. So I give up on Pandora and resume staring at the ceiling. I don’t know when I fell asleep but it was after 4:30. When I finally fall asleep I only have  an hour and a half before my alarm goes off, and of course I’m in the middle of a dream.

Needless to say, I’m not feeling so rested this morning. Great. I really hope that this isn’t going to become a pattern and I can sleep well tonight.

Leave a Reply

