Skip navigation

I’ve lived in the midwest my whole life. I was born in the west suburbs of Chicago and raised there. Luckily I’ve had the opportunity to travel around the country, otherwise it would’ve been a rather boring childhood. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate everything about the midwest. I like Chicago, which I believe is the saving grace of what is quite possibly the world’s largest corn field. I also like the seasons, or at least 3 out of 4 (though winter’s not all bad).

I like that seasons change. I like that summer turns to fall. Fall turns to winter and winter turns to spring. I like that I have had the chances to experience all temperature and weather extremes. Some people don’t, they get one or the other. Some kids grow up in regions were it feels like summer all year long and it’s always sunny. Some grow up where there is snow on the ground for most of the year. I got to see both, hot summer days, cold and snowy winter nights, and the in between.

What I love most is fall. When the leaves are changing, the weather is getting cooler. It’s my favorite season by far. It’s the colors on the trees; the reds, golds, and organs. It’s the cool mornings and nights, with warmer days. The warm sun and cool air. The way that the sun will warm your face, but the air will make you have to wear a sweater. There’s something in the air. It’s “apple crunching” crisp and cool.

Then there is the weird periods of time during the transition seasons, fall and spring. The days when it is in the 80s then drops overnight. The week when one day is 78 and the next the high is in the 40s. Those are the times when I can only say WTF? Like the April that is sunny and 85 followed by a cool and rainy May with highs only in the 60s. The March when it snows one day and the next people are wearing shorts. So, really, WTF? What happened to predictabilty?

If you live in one of those regions that has any of the above as a common pattern. The only predictable thing about the weather is that the weatherman will be wrong.

Leave a Reply

